Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Don’t you wanna come with me? Don’t you wanna feel my bones on your bones? It’s only natural.

Last night I took a break from the tourist life and dealt with the effects of being a tourist of 3.5 months out of this year….I applied for jobs.  12 in all ranging from call centres in Clayton to Part Time Legal Clerk in the CBD to some year 11 student needing a chemistry tutor.  Most of them required a CV and Cover Letter, none of them I had “ready to go” but thanks to the Monash University job help ‘examples’ I was able to complete the process in just under 2 hours.  Efficient job applying if I say so myself and now I just have to hope that I get one of them so I can pay back the money I have borrowed ASAP.  I just feel weighed down when I owe vast sums of money 😦

After that I walked around the city some and found myself some dinner, all by myself (I went back to the Czech place Justin took me on Day 2 not being game enough to choose a random restaurant when they menu is in a foreign language.  I am able to order beer or “pivo” in Czech though :D).  After that it was an early night as I was just sooo tired.

Waking up refreshed after the most sleep I have had in a month or so I was heading off to Kutna Hora.   I managed to negate the metro and train stations brilliantly as well getting there without any fuss.  It helped I had all the Czech words of where and when I needed to go written down though.Kutna Hora is the city I had planned on going to yesterday until I couldn’t be bothered figuring out the train system, but I probably could’ve managed fine.  The reason people go to Kutna Hora is this church and Justin had told me I had to go.  It was the coolest church ever.  Seriously this is like a motorcycle gang with the Fonz and James Dean multiplied by the Rat Pack level of cool.  The Church is below:

036

Okay, so where is the awesome?  Well “The Ossuary in Sedlec” is actually more well known for what is on the first floor than the rather mundane main chapel you see above.  It is the coolest church ever because it is entirely decorated with these things…

023

That is right!  BONES! The remains of over 40,000 people have been used to decorate the Ossuary in Sedlec.  Originally the church was without this “decoration”when it was built in the 14th century.  The bones were added at the start of the 18th Century.  There are bone chandeliers, there are 4 MASSIVE piles of bones, bones forming a coat of arms, bones just adorning every wall and surface. It is just so strange.  Supposedly the use of bones is supposed to represent the relationship between mortals and god or something along those lines.  However, at no point in the explanations do they explain why use real bones.  You feel like you are just the only person in the room who is going “But they are bones?!!!!!” as everybody else sees it as a somewhat normal thing.  Definitely well worth the 40 crowns or whatever the cheap entry fee is.  This is something you definitely won’t see everyday.

034

After the Church I went to the old Monastery Cathedral just up the road which you get in to with the same ticket.  It was okay,  a good old church, but nothing spectacular.  The Conventual Church of the Assumption of the Virgin as it is known was probably at the lower of churches I have seen in Europe, still better than any aussie one, but it also got hurt that I just been to the most spectacular church ever. I then explored the city and found a place to eat some lunch as I was starving and it had started to rain a little heavier.  I chose this little italian place and although the service was good and the beer was great…the food was probably the first “less than average” meal I have had in a while.  I got a risotto and it was definitely over cooked.  The Meal only cost 7 dollars so I can’t really complain to much.  However, I did take note that I have had such a great run with food in my travels. Also I took note that Gordon Ramsay would have  a fit with Czech cooking…your food is always served in a sea of chopped parsley and the menus are 10000 items long.

My last task in Kutna Hora was to do the Medieval Silver Mine tour. There are other things to do in the city, but this was the only one that really interested me.  It also had a good review from some of Justin’s friends.  Unfortunately when I got to the mine I had missed the only English tour (there are just two a day and the next one was a lot later so I am not counting it :P), so off I went on a Czech only tour with written pages of English to help me.  Luckily though we had 60% English speakers so eventually the group was split in to Czech and English and there was even an awesome English speaking Czech on the tour who was able to help the guide with the tour.  You start off covering how they dug the mines, got air in to the mines, etc.  Remember this is around 1500s so it was an amazing accomplishment.  Then you put on a hard hat, coat and grab a torch and climb down 165 steps to the start of the mine.  Inside the mine is basically like the caving you did in High School…cold, damp and cramped.  There were a few places were they stopped and told us some more information about the mine but there was also a bit of marching through the tiny passages of the mine.  It was pretty cool, but you wouldn’t want to be fat or tall as it gets 40cm wide in places and 120cm tall in other places…luckily not at the same time though and I can’t really complain about it being difficult to walk around as there were people older than my mother managing to do it.  The tour ends with how the silver was extracted from the ore, hammered in to sheets and eventually made in to coins.  There was a fair bit of information on the signs that I think you missed as I didn’t know Czech but in the end it was cool to see how they mined precious metals all those years ago.  The scary part though was when we all turned off the torches and they show the SEVERELY limited light that the miners had to work with.  Think about the level of light a glow in the solar system gives off when on the roof of a darkened child’s room and divide that by 10!

With that I took the small train to the main station (a time saving tip that Jo, one of Justin’s friends, gave me) and was able to wait just a few minutes for the next train to Praha hl.n.  The funny thing was that as I sat down in the empty 6 people compartment, a family of 3 people sat down with me.  They said hi.  They said hi because they were the same American tourists who I had sat in the carriage with on the way down in the morning.  Somewhat freaky coincidence…or they are stalking me 😛

June 20, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. You’ve changed your style of writing! Just thought I’d let you know. I notice things like that 🙂

    And haha: “Seriously this is like a motorcycle gang with the Fonz and James Dean multiplied by the Rat Pack level of cool.”

    Normally I’d dispute such a proposition, but it’s a church of bones. That’s pretty metal.

    – Steve (starting to feel better after being ill of late!)

    Comment by Stevechops | June 20, 2009 | Reply

    • Not that I am disputing the fact but how has it changed? *he asked curiously*

      Good to hear your better. That wil teach you to drink American Beer 😉 hehe

      Comment by casaboy69 | June 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

