Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

You ride with both hands, Worrying is the breathing that you need, So there won’t be far to fall…

Okay, so two posts in one day but I thought it was best to cover tonight before it got lost in whatever I get up to tomorrow as it was  a great night.

Since I last posted we have eaten dinner (Some beautiful Danish meatballs that Jonna made – you can’t half tell I have been craving GOOD food after eating my dodgy attempts at cooking in Leeds can you?).  However, the main event was a trip to Tivoli. 

 

Picture 062

 

To get there, as the weather was perfect, we rode the bikes.  The Danes, like a lot of europeans, ride bikes regularly but this was my first time on a bike in what I think was 5 years (To say my ass and legs are saw at the moment is an UNDERSTATEMENT!).  However, as they say, it is “like riding a bike” so even after an iffy start, eventually I was riding like Cadel.  It was interesting to note that there are no helmet laws in Denmark, or UK for that matter, so after being brought up in Australia the helmet-less riding just felt a little wrong.

 

When we arrived at Tivoli all of us (Seb, Peter, Jonna, Nikoline and Sophie-Seb’s girlfriend) did a slow lap of the place that let me get my bearings and get a general feel of the place.  Although it is a theme park and shares many similarities with others I have been to and even the Royal Melbourne Show, there are distinct differences that make Tivoli special. After an all in Wack-a-mole game, eating some candy, eating coconut ice cream and rides on Demon and Monsoon are night was done and off we rode home at 10:30 just as the sun was setting.

 

Picture 178

 

What I think makes Tivoli specíal is that it isn’t at all Cheesy.  It has very little tack-factor and by an large does the whole theme park idea well. The rides may not be the best in the world, although very entertaining and the games are still most likely ripping you off, but it has a great atmosphere.  You can’t help think that Danes have the perfect date night spot whether you are a spotty faced teen desperate trying to get that first kiss or an elderly couple walking around disturbed by the amount of unruly youths with their over use of hair products.  To have such a lovely place, in the centre of town, and by comparative Danish standards be not that expensive is great.  It is something that definitely Melbourne lacks…

 

Picture 182

 

The other thing that I have noticed in my time in Denmark is just how different every family is.  As  a kid we grow up thinking that our family is the norm.  Ýou may stay over at a friend’s place and see something a little different or a different kind of relationship but you will generally just side track that and disregard it.  However, in reality we are probably the exception instead of the norm- or at least every family is different and has its own unique dynamic.  I have been welcomed in to a ‘home’ here and I am very grateful for that fact, but I notice that it is a different kind of home than I am used to.  It may be a danish thing. It may be a them thing.  Odds are it is probably just a people thing though..

May 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Did you see Princess Mary?😛

    Comment by Siobhan | May 27, 2009 | Reply

    • No, but one of the Princes visited the house I am staying in not that long ago…long bow to draw, but a somewhat tangible link.

      Comment by casaboy69 | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m probably the only one who will notice the Mew (Danish) theme to your post titles. They are supporting Nine Inch Nails on their European tour – but for some reason bail on Prague. Not happy.

    Comment by Juzzy | May 27, 2009 | Reply

    • I do try to listen to music from the country that I am in and Mew really does suit strolling around Copenhagen😉

      Comment by casaboy69 | May 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

