Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Why are you looking grave? Are you thinking of something to say? Why are you sitting there? Are you hoping that someone will stare?

Today was my last proper day in Copenhagen.  Tomorrow morning I wake up quite early, jump on the Metro to Copenhagen Airport and start my journey to Bruges in Belgium.   A really full day yesterday had meant there was only one last thing to do today from my list and that was to go to the Carlsberg Brewery.  Yes, you may start to notice that Breweries and Distilleries are regular features of my travels but that is because they mix my two interests of science and drinking as well as in this case Carlsberg being  a drink I have lived off as my beer of choice for the last 6 months…I just had to go.

 

After I eventually woke up I began walking to the Carlsberg brewery.  I probably could’ve bused it or biked it but as time was not a factor I liked the idea of continuing to ramble my way through the streets of Copenhagen.  It just allows you to see many things you may otherwise miss from a bus or other form of transport.  50 minutes later, I arrived at the brewery. 

 

Much like most major breweries, Carlsberg’s main operations have moved out of the city and in to the country where there is greater land available.  However, there was a visitors centre set up in the old brewery as well as a Jacobsen’s micro-brewery and bar that has been added on the site of the old brewery. 

 

Much like the Guiness tour, it was a self guided tour and a fair bit of time was devoted to the process of making the beer.  This is something that doesn’t drastically differ in theory between breweries but there was still a vast amount of things that made this tour special and interesting.  Firstly there was the largest beer bottle collection in the world, although I couldn’t see any VB or other Australian beers in the display.  Then there was also a detailed timeline of the history of Carlsberg and information on the influence that Carlsberg has had on wider Copenhagen (Of course the little mermaid and other statues are all donations to the city by the Carlsberg company).  The interesting parts of the tour for me where the fact Carlsberg used to use the Swastika as it’s symbol, the relationship between all the different breweries in Denmark that has lead to Tuborg, Carlsberg, etc all being one company in the 21st Century as well the excellent way the displays made use of comparing the process as used by Carlsberg today vs the process of the 1900s and earlier.  There was also the interesting thing that every brewery tour I go on seems to have  a large amount of school kids there on an excursion…a pretty cool excursion if you ask me!

 

After the tour there is the Jacobsen’s bar where you get to sample two different beers as part of you entry price (DK60).  I went for the Carl’s Ale and the Jacobsen’s Extra Pilsner as I wanted to make the most of the opportunity to drink beers that aren’t available back home in Australia.  They were lovely though and it was great to just sit down and enjoy them on a beautiful day in Denmark.

 

As I strolled back, I did notice the many Danish Flags that were on display.  You could almost consider it the equivalent of Australia Day from the flag pride going on as they adorned shop windows, buses and many other locations.  However, today was no different to any other day in Denmark, it appears that national pride is something that is taken very seriously by the Danes.  I know from talking to people about the negative effect of the recent racial issues in Denmark on the country’s reputation just how seriously their pride in their country is as well as how disappointed they are that their reputation on the world stage has been slightly dented.  One of many things that you can ponder as I sat in the park, eating my pizza and hot dog lunch as the sun beamed down…

May 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Being in the Czech Republic for as long as you are you should visit all the main breweries in all the cities….including Ceske Budjovice (Budvar), Staropramen (Old Prague), Gambrinus and of course Pilsner Urquell where the ORIGINAL Pilsner was created…in the city of Plzen.🙂

    Comment by Juzzy | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. So when does the science start?????

    Comment by Christine | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. I went on a school excursion to the brewery. FYI, they give you soft drink at the end :p

    Comment by shanchops | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. haha I noticed all the disappointed kids getting their soft drink Shan. It just made me more eager to drink my beer in front of them and show em how much I enjoyed it *evil laugh*

    Comment by casaboy69 | May 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh and christ…Beer making is a science these days. Especially at Carlsberg, they have had a “Beer Laboratory” with lab coats, beakers and shit for over 100 years hehe

    Comment by casaboy69 | May 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. LOL i wonder if they take chemistry majors……………I may never come back HAHAHA

    Comment by Christ | June 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

