Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

I’m 15 for a moment, Caught in between 10 and 20, And I’m just dreaming…

I had a few interesting chats in the last 24 hours that have given me a little perspective in the UK vs Australia debate. I would have liked to have come over to  the UK and been more proud of my Australian passport than the UK one I scored through somewhat dodgy birthrights.  Maybe it is the inherent competitive Australian in me.  Something that has disappointed me in the last 6 months is that is not necessarily the case.  The UK is plagued by a variety of different class issues and general problems and there are a large proportion of the population who are struggling, but it is clear to me that Australia lacks a human rights history to be proud of.  I can chant 5-0 in any pub in the UK, but I know that I have lost the battle as soon as freedom is discussed. I love Australia and it burns me that I can’t look smugly on nearly anybody…

Australia can no claim a gay, black or female elected female leader…that is sad when you compare it to the political spectrum the world presents us.  Yes you could claim it was a fact that such worthy individuals haven’t presented themselves, but after 120 years…such excuses start to run dry.  Even when you look to America, a country that is held back by such a decisive community that struggles with prejudice everyday, they leave us in their wake.  They may not be able to elect a ‘black man with a funny name’ as President without destroying the basic human rights of another minority on the same day, but at least they can say they elected a black man!  At least a section of their states can recognise rights that NO AUSTRALIAN government does. Who was the last non-white man/woman elected to Australian Commonwealth Parliament….cant name him/her?  Yeah, I know that’s the problem.

This isn’t  an issue that just rises when discussing politics.  I was also slapped in the face with Australia’s failure to recognise basic human rights in my Gender and the Law studies.  You could almost use Australian law as the “what a country shouldn’t do example.  Our treatment of refugees is just another example of Australia failing to meet the most minimum of standards. I was trying to figure out why Australia has fallen behind the rest of the world and particularly Europe with these issues.  I can’t put my finger on just one thing but I feel the isolation of Australia from the rest of the world has something to do with it.   The UK’s developments have largely been influenced by an EU agenda and Australia really lacks that kind of political influence from outside.

Anyway, lets consider that little rant over.  I could probably go on, but the fact I have already had to ‘tone it down’ once or twice means I am wary to do so.  Maybe i’ll continue after I’ve had time to think about the issues more.  So, yesterday was day 3 of the week of mayhem.  I had planned on it being my last night but I was able to burn through a good 3 hours of study, essay plans and the like yesterday so I am pushing through for one more night – before I hit the books hard.  For night 3, we once again had pre-drinks at Josh’s.  This time we classed it up a bit from the usual Carlsberg cans and bought some wine.  Okay the South African and Californian wine was from “Budget Booze” but Wine is always more classy than beer isn’t it? haha.

At about 10:30 we were off to Gatecrasher 7.  I had been to gatecrasher as part of my Australia Day celebrations  but couldn’t remember it at all as so much has passed between then and now.  It was a pretty fun club with two levels and a nice VIP section.  After struggling with a line the night before we had no such problem yesterday as we had used our connections to score not only VIP access, but also a nice table for our group in the VIP section.  We eventually joined the throngs of people on the dancefloor and that is the way the night continued until closing.

4336_88391070063_504160063_2197180_3634203_n

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Well said, son. I presume you mean no national elected leader – Anna Bligh became the first elected Premier a month or two ago ( ironic that it was in Queensland!) Aden Ridgeway was the last indigenous member of the Commonwealth Parlt (2005 Senate), but I’m looking forward to a time when the gender or colour of a parliamentarian doesn’t even raise an eyebrow here – perhaps in your lifetime… !:)

    Dad

    Comment by Niranjan | May 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah I meant Federal, but the fact if I wrote this 2 months ago I wouldn’t have needed to be so specific is part of the problem!

      Comment by casaboy69 | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yeah, it’s isolation (coming from someone too isolated to have been anywhere haha).

    To draw a strange parallel, I sort of see Australia as the New Zealand Consulate from Flight of the Conchords… stuck in the 70s in some ways.

    Comment by Steve | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wait, I mean..

    If ya don’t like straya then GIT OUT fa good!

    Comment by Steve | May 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Says the greek 😛 hehe

      Comment by casaboy69 | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. oh how i have missed the ranting intellectual! as a woman i suppose i should be putting up some feminist front here eh?

    Comment by bethy | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. Re-read this post today after discussing with a mate. Just thought I needed to reinforce that it isn’t an “I hate a Australia” post but an “I love Australia, so I want it to be clearly the best country in all areas” post.

    I’m pretty sure I got my point across, but I am not sure of my writing skills.

    Comment by casaboy69 | May 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

