Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Everybody has a summer holiday, Doing things they always wanted to. So were going on a summer holiday, To make our dreams come true…

Okay so there was more sleep and more study today, but more importantly I have now booked the remainder of my travels.  All hostels, trains, planes, etc are all booked.  You should see the pile of ‘e-tickets’, booking confirmations and the like that I now have stacked in chronological order on my bed.

So where and when am I going places?  Well I last left my Itinerary on June 24 when I am in Prague with my brother. So lets pick it up from there.

June 25 – June 28 :  Arrive in Vienna by train.  Eat loads of strudel and the like and ride a Ferris Wheel.

June 29 – July 2: Arrive in Munich, again by train.  Drink Beer, go to Dachau concentration camp and hopefully see loads of people in Lederhosen.

July 3 – July 6: Arrive in Munich, by train once more.  See the remants of the wall and see the Reichstag (makes note not to burn it down).

July 7: Fly in to London from Berlin on Ezyjet and take a variety of trains to eventually end up in Cardiff.

July 8: Day 1 of the Ashes!!! Go Aussies.  After the game, collect my bags and make my way to the train station to train it back to London.  I couldn’t find accomodation for this night in Cardiff.

July 9: At 2pm, I take the Eurostar to Paris like every good brit.

July 10: July 12: Paris.  Drink wine, wear a beret and eat random frog parts.

July 13: Take a late afternoon train back to London.

July 14 – 15: Spend my last couple of days in London buyin pressies, riding on the Eurostar and trying desperately to lose my slight English accent.

July 16:  Day 1 of the Lord’s Ashes Test with Justin.  With many Boxing Days behind us…time for the home of cricket!

July 17:  At midday I get on that long booked Qantas flight back to Australia, via Hong Kong. Hopefully I have a working entertainment system this time 😛

July 18:  8pm…walk through those gates at Melbourne Airport and I am back home

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Are you planning to go on the London Eye still?

    Dad

    Comment by Niranjan | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah…see those two days in London before Lords 😉

      Comment by casaboy69 | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. We will talk about this in more detail but I just got back from Krakow and think you need to go there as well. Particularly to the Salt Mines (probably one of the best things I’ve seen in Europe so far) and Auschwitz, for far less pleasant but still very important reasons.
    You will only need 2 of your 8 days in “Prague” to see it. Plus I travelled on the night trains and they are quite safe if you spend the extra 30 euros for a sleeper cabin (all be it not the best nights sleep!) I’ll send you a message with a potential plan.

    Comment by Juzzy | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the tip, Auschwitz is something I really want to see (although for far less pleasant reasons of course). If I can work it out it would be awesome.

      Comment by casaboy69 | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Simon,

    Have been to Auschwitz – many moons ago – (stop laughing). Definately a must. It was an eye opener but the strongest memory I have of the place is the deafening silence. I know that sounds strange but that’s what I remember the most.

    Comment by Gracy | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. By the way, no need to lose the slight English accent altogether – will mean that I won’t stand out entirely on my own when I come out with the occasional ‘English’ word or accent, even after all these years! 🙂

    Dad

    Comment by Niranjan | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. Eat random frog parts??? ROFL

    Comment by Christ | May 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

