Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

With every year, that came to pass, more clouds appeared, ‘Til the sky went black, and there was no sunlight…

England has lulled me in to a false sense of security and has decided its time to wake me up to reality.  Yep, that’s right, after weeks of great weather and sun…it is raining again.  Wonderful 😦  I do know why the weather has turned again and it is my fault.  Last night I made a comment to couple of my English friends that “Yeah, surprisingly I think I could live here long term.”  England just had to give me the wake up call that the fine days are the exception and not the rule over on this rainy little rock.  Oh well, I still love it here.  I just wish it wasn’t raining!

I was watching some tv last night after my long day of assignment writing and presentation preparation and  I had a thought.  I have realised that after these 7 months away, I will have a greater connection to a lot more places.  Firstly there are about 30 cities (I’ll do a proper count eventually) that I will have been to.  So whenever there is a TV show set in Manchester or a travel advertisement about Belfast I will sit back and go “oh I’ve been there”.  Whenever somewhat start talking about Europe, the UK, North America or travelling any of these places I will be able to give my 2 cents.  Finally, after living in Leeds for 6 months I think there will always be a somewhat “homely” feel about the place to me.  I read newspapers and whenever Leeds or South Yorkshire is mentioned I read it as avidly as if it was talking about Melbourne.  It is even something that has extended to my relatives who lovingly informed me that “Songs of Praise” was in Leeds a few weeks back.  I think I wil end these 7 months with a greater feeling of understanding of more than just our not so little isolated country.

Finally, I have finally realised the one thing that defines my family.  A connection that proves that we are all related.  I was wandering around the shop today looking for a snack and ended up leaving with a variety of cheeses and I thought…I don’t know anyone in my family who hates cheese.  In fact we are all generally way too addicted to the stuff haha

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. So, ( having just finished some rather tasty blue cheese after some late night work), what’s the best regional cheese from around Leeds? Ot is it all nationally produced stuff?! 🙂

    Dad

    Comment by Niranjan | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. Been eating the dutch stuff 😉 No need to be local with respect to cheese haha

    Comment by casaboy69 | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. haha CHEESE, the best thing in. the. world. hahaha. funny to find little family connections like that eh?

    and its a nice little buzz when you can go ‘i’ve been there’……. nice to know you feel.. part of that place. i now understand why people get so excited about that stuff. xx

    Comment by elladanes | April 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

