Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

This is a toast to all the people listening. I hope it gets stuck in your head. So tap your feet and click, click, click your fingers. Let’s make the rest of the world care.

Anyone who has been in to my bedroom back in Oz may have noticed that I am somewhat of a pillow addict.  At one stage I remember having about 8 pillows on my bed, although I have been able to cut back to about 4 or 5 if I remember correctly.  However, since I have been in Leeds things have changed.  With my crappy tiny little bed I have been having to put up with the 100% synthetic sheets and Doona (although say Doona to a pom and you get a weird look, its a duvet ;)) and worst of all, ONE thin pillow.

Well last night things got worse.  I have been rolling up my pillow and doing everything I can to try and get comfortable but it hasn’t felt right for the last week.  On investigation it turns out I have managed to destroy the pillow so that half of the stuffing was sitting in the pillow case and half stuffed into a corner of the pillow…how did I manage that?  Well I decided I would put up with it, but after waking up this morning with my back killing me I decided I couldn’t live with just one dodgy pillow so bought myself another, still cheap and crappy, but at least whole pillow.  How does someone break a pillow in lest than 3 months of sleeping on it? :S

Besides bed issues today I managed to provisionally finish my Gender and the Law essay. It needs to be revised, re-written and cleaned up but there are 3000 (or actually 2880) words on the paper! That means that I now have one essay, one exam and one oral to perform on top of just 6 hours of class until my experience as a University of Leeds Student comes to an end.  I can’t believe it has come around so quickly.  I will just have to make the most of my time in Leeds then.  Go out as much as I can.  See as many people as I can.  In short, make the most of every minute 🙂
So as part of that mission I am off to Josh’s shortly for predrinks, then off to the Eldon (our tuesday night hangout) and then somewhere else…maybe Space seeing as we have found ourselves on touching the surface of the many good pubs and clubs that are around in Leeds.  I can’t come to Leeds and just go out to 2 of the over 20 clubs can I? 😛

Anyway I am off!

April 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. why didn’t you tell me! i’d have sent you one hehe essential is a good pillow (i have 6 on my bed!) i’m a bit concerned about the pillow situation on my upcoming voyage :S

    Comment by bethy | April 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. Simon – Is Doona a word used in Oz?

    I ask because I thought it was the Danish word for a duvet, as kids we said it after hearing it in from Uncle E and Aunty P.

    Comment by Riza | April 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. It turns out…according to wiki, that Doona is both Australian and Danish.

    “In Australia a duvet or down quilt is often called a “Doona”, which is a genericized trademark (registered to the Tontine Group) which is derived from the equivalent common Scandinavian term dyne and popularized by the retailer IKEA in the 1970s. Originally the term continental quilt was the standard name used across Australia, and some regions continue to use this term.”

    Comment by casaboy69 | April 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks, something funny that it’s Australian and Danish, well funny in our family I mean!

    Comment by Riza | April 23, 2009 | Reply

  5. Yeah I know, We now have another Australian-Danish connection besides the “Casinader-Christiansen” and the Princess Mary link 😛

    Comment by casaboy69 | April 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

