Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Somewhere over the rainbow, Way up high, And the dreams that you dreamed of, Once in a lullaby…

And what a good Friday it was!

Actually at this point, if anybody can tell me why it is “Good” Friday when, if my bible studies are correct, it is the day Jesus was killed…why are we saying it is good he died?  Shouldn’t it be “Bad Friday” and “Good Sunday” when he was resurrected.

Anyway, I am getting sidetracked with religious discussions.  Last night I had a very relaxing night.  First, I filled some time in by seeing “The Boat that Rocked” in the tiny little cinema near my hostel.  For the record it is an “okay” movie.  I wasn’t bored throughout…but it lacks storyline and any massive laughs – just enough chuckles for it to be enjoyable.  Then I went to bed, this time in a top bunk as one had freed up (So no claustrophobic moments at all).  I actually had completely different roommates last night.  2 women and an empty bed.  I think it speaks a little about the ‘character’ of this hostel that the two women were definitely ‘mother age’😛 haha

This morning I took a Ring of Kerry tour that was organised through the hostel.  I quickly realised that it was the same one that is advertised all throughout Killarney…but as I booked through the hostel I saved €7.  BARGAIN!  It was  a 50 person coach tour, but the bus wasn’t even half filled.  Our guide for the day was, once again, really good.  He was detailed and able to tell us a multitude of stories to keep us interested (My favourite was about the town we drove through that 3 days a year has a festival where they catch a wild goat and make it king.  Crown and ALL!).

img_4623

We started off by having some great views of the Lakes of Killarney and the Gap of Dunloe.  The weather blessing me again with a pretty good day, even though rain would poke up its head occasionally.  We then drove to the “Kerry Bog Village” which is a preserved set of 1800s cottages set up as a mini museum.  It was interesting but you can’t help feeling ripped off by paying €5 for something that takes 25 minutes to complete.  Regardless of how interesting it was or how fun it is to play with a turf fire😛

img_4638

After some amazing views as we drove around the Ring of Kerry we stopped for lunch.  Our lunch was in an amazing place.  We had the weather in our favour today, but although I have said this before – this was the best views in Ireland I have seen. It was just magic and felt slightly “un-irish” to me…showing how I had very stereotypical (and slightly wrong) views of the country before I came here.  For lunch the food was good enough (and quite cheap for Irish standards) and I even got served a Guinness.  With Alcohol sales being banned in Ireland on Good Friday I was surprised when offered a drink, but I wasn’t going to complain.  I sat and enjoyed my first illegal drink since November 2005 (or June 2006 in the USA if I am being honest ;)) with a totally breathtaking view.  Seriously wait until I can add photos and you will be as amazed as I was.

img_4689

The tour then continued along the coast taking in more sights than I can list here.  A short list of things we saw were a life sized statue of Charlie Chaplin (man that dude was small!), some ‘famine cottages’ abandoned during the Potato famine, more amazing views, the best rainbow I have ever seen (in Ireland…the land of leprechauns no less!), ruins of a ring fort, the ruins of Daniel O’Connell’s birthplace (This dude couldn’t be more loved in the Republic!), etc, etc, etc.  We came back in to Killarney via the National Park so I saw the Torc Waterfall and the Ladies View, two things I regretted not seeing yesterday.  So I was a very happy camper.

img_4755

In the end, and after writing the above, the tour was able to fit in quite of lot of brilliant things.   A great way for me to end my tour of Ireland as tomorrow I head back to Dublin and then brave the dreaded ‘long weekend airports’ to fly back to London.  Wish me luck😉

April 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. I said to mum that u were planning on going on a tour of the Ring of Kerry on Friday and she was like “wait tours run on Good Friday … doesn’t everything stop in Ireland on Good Friday” hehe …. On another note … I just wish I could have ssen the Ring of Kerry!!!

    Comment by Siobhan | April 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. I was surprised tours ran on Good Friday as well! Who would’ve thought that Ireland can continue to run when the booze stops :O hehe

    Comment by casaboy69 | April 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. simey that is SOOOOOOOOOOOOO awesome!

    Comment by elladanes | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

