Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

There’s only two types of people in the world. The ones that entertain and the ones that work!

Yes that is right people, after almost 2 months of university in Leeds where the most work I have done is read the occasional article or get myself out of bed at 3pm to go to class…I have had to start ACTUALLY working in the last two days.

For my assessment this semester I have a total of 5 essays, one oral presentation and an exam – all law subjects.  That is very different to what I am used to.  Back in Australia, for 3 years I have had law subjects that generally have exam-based assessment.  For 3 years, I have had at least 50% of my units a semester(and about 90% of my ‘during semester work to complete’) be science based.  For 3 years, if I have had to do an assignment it has been a lab report and my ‘scientific bullshit’ are well and truly honed.  So this different way of assessing how brilliant I am will take some getting used to.

However, I have made a good start to completing the assignments recently.  I have done a lot of reading to help me decide on a position on the 5 different questions.   I have written out two detailed plans for my essays with references for most, if not all, of the points I want to make(the most important step in my opinion).  I have planned when I will do what for the next two weeks (on a day by day basis). I have even managed to wake up early over the past few days in the hope that I will reset my body clock so I will be able to work full days to complete these tasks.

The good news is that the first piece of assessment due isn’t due until April 20, which is after Easter break.  Of course, it isn’t ideal to have 6 of 7 pieces of assessment due in the space fo 3 weeks BUT on the plus side with about 4 weeks of ‘not much else’ coming up I should be able to get through it all quite well.

So, after a productive couple of days I feel like I have earnt a break.  I am sitting here eating Cadbury Creme Eggs and Maoam Stripes (an awesome candy you get here), feeling on a massive sugar high and tonight  will be heading out for a few drinks! (There is no need for people to point out that my treat for two days of work is what I have done for the past 8 weeks 😛 haha)

March 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Like Britney much?

    Comment by Christ | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Shut up! She is brill!

    Comment by casaboy69 | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. like a circus?

    Comment by Christ | March 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m glad to hear my visit to see you for the first time in 6 months counts as “not much else”…….

    Comment by Juzzy | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. Haha well it would be 4 weeks of nothing but study if it wasn’t for your visit. You know it will be a highlight 😛

    Comment by casaboy69 | March 12, 2009 | Reply

  6. omg simey did we START our post with britney?? oh my dear lord……. how can it make me love you AND roll my eyes at the same time……

    Comment by elladanes | March 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

