Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Questions of science, Science and progress, Do not speak as loud as my heart.

First off, thanks to Christ who’s recent attendance at a Coldplay concert has lead to me living in a “Chris Martin Universe” for the last 24 hours.  It is amazing how I can have an iPod full of such a variety of music and so often I forget about awesome bands/albums that are on it.  I listen to the same smallish percentage of songs and have to wait until I get a reminder until I once again remember to listen to those songs.

Now to the point of today’s post.  I have finally figured out how I am feeling about doing this ‘Study Abroad experience’.  Yes I know it isn’t probably as exciting a revelation as a cure for cancer or that I am adopted, but it is something that has stumped me pretty much since I landed in Heathrow. However, in between my Comparative European Legal Systems class, Gender and the Law reading, more episodes of Weeds and going to see The International (A pretty cool movie btw even if we had to suffer through a group of idiots talking throughout!), I finally was able to crystallise all my thoughts in to something decipherable.

It is a web of mixed feelings.  I love it here.  I love the places I get to travel to.  I love the people I get to meet. I love the fun I get to have.  I could go on – in short, it is great here.  However, on the other side of the coin.  I love Melbourne.  I miss home.  I would love to have been enjoying the sun/beaches at home.  I miss my friends and family.  So I have been dealing with this love/hate situation where I love being over in Leeds and hate being away from ‘home’.

So, what was this realisation you ask?  Well I have realised that I will never be 100% happy with what I am, where I am or what I am doing.  The grass will always be greener on the other side.  I will always, no matter how much I enjoy doing something or being somewhere, have a slightly niggling feeling that I should be doing something else.  But, in the end the regret of not taking the opportunities when they come up will hurt 10 times more than these slight niggles.

The only way I could overcome these awkward feelings is to somehow event a machine that allows me to be in 2 or 3 or 4 places at once.  I’ll start the research ASAP haha

Anyway I am off to Edinburgh for the weekend…and I WILL eat Haggis (its definitely not going to be the weirdest thing I’ve eaten in my life lol) and will probably have to resist the urge to laugh at the skirts (I mean kilts 😉 hehe)

March 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. awwwww, you’re doing what you’re supposed to be being all ‘revelationy’.. i love it, it’s a time in your life to do that. ditto on the sentiments of ‘two sides of the coin’.. i’ve been looking at life that way a lot, hoping to find that i’m happy on one side, but i’m not lol. problem is, sometimes it’s like you’re not looking at one coin, but you have an entire money box! xx just make choices one at a time. you never know how life WOULD have been if just ONE choice.. was made differently 🙂

    Comment by elladanes | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. and how did you get a possibly related post link as ‘rihanna – hate that i love you???’

    Comment by elladanes | March 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Awww Simie i love your revelationary posts. Just remember we’ll all still be here when you get back (and ready to run you over with a car LOL).

    Secondly, i know what you mean about “Chris Martin Universe” concerts always make you reassess the music. In fact i can safely say i love them more! Lame but true hehe i’ve been listening to just them since Wednesday because nothing else seems good LOL

    One last thing…..this is bad….Laura said that they have drained ‘the pond’ (the one i refer to as ‘the lake’) LOL of water!!!!!. I know what you’re thinking….don’t worry i’m reporting it to the Police this is a serious matter ROFL

    Comment by Christ | March 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

