Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

I wanna wake up, I’ve been walking in my sleep to long, Wake up, So sick of dreaming..

So my last day or so have been somewhat “routine-like” for my time in Leeds.  Monday night we went out to dinner, Tuesday I spent most of the day asleep, went to university for my one hour of Crime Prevention and Community Safety and then went out (It was a Tuesday after all).  So as it was a Tuesday I hit up the Eldon with my fellow internationals before making our way over to the Faversham. There was no Tiger Tiger this week as it was Carnaval…and you know my love of Salsa don’t you? hehe

I have made two observations though.  Well I suppose its really one observation and one theory.  Lets start with the observation – here it goes…IT IS GOING TO GET A LOT MORE WET!  It was just over the weekend that it was commented on by us Australians that “rainy ol’ England” hadn’t been very rainy.  With a wry smile, the English people around us said “oh but wait til spring”.  So here we are just a few days into spring and its been raining non-stop for the last few days haha.  It isn’t heavy rain. It probably isn’t rain that would be out of the ordinary in Melbourne.  But when it is about 3 or 4 degrees, this little bit of rain hurts a little more.  It doesn’t even allow you to make snowmen, have snowball fights, etc….snow is a lot more fun.

Okay, so now on to the theory.  I don’t know if this has much logic in it, but here it goes.  I have come to the conclusion that our relationships with people are not defined by who we are or what we do but more who we were, who they have met before, what experiences we have had, etc.  In short, the past has a greater influence on our lives (and our interactions with others) than we usually give it credit.  Do I have extensive scientific research to support this? No. Do I have extensive annecdotal evidence to support it?  Yes.   Does it REALLY annoy me that this is the case?  Hell yes…

March 4, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Firstly, I agree with you on the past experiences influencing new ones. Wholeheartedly. That’s why I feel it important to get to know and have as friends a wide variety of people. I think prejudice is made through assumptions about a personality aspect you just haven’t got to know before.

    Secondly, it’s a ‘wry smile’, not ‘rye’😀 (english nazi)

    Comment by Steve Androulakis | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. haha corrected Mr Androulakis! That will teach me not to post so early in the Morning after a night out😛

    Comment by casaboy69 | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. I sigh, and want to burst into tears and flames at the same time as i AGREE with you!! and it’s infuriating.

    i consider it ridiculously important to meet and be immersed in opportunities where you meet many many different types of people, who lead lives nothing like yours, and have contrasting morals, beliefs and views, and it is so IMPORTANT to be accepting of all of these different people in the world. meeting other people challenges things about YOURSELF and does change you or open you to things and also leads you to make decisions about what NOT to incorporate in your life.

    and the worst thing about the past? everyone has got one, and it’s very different to yours.. and when you meet someone who hasn’t been confronted by as much, haven’t been through the variety or have even been through things you haven’t…… friction occurs.. and for life to pan out, you’ve BOTH got to learn from THAT experience….. *sigh* sorry for the long response hahah i’ve been contemplating similar thought lines.

    i wish i could take the people i love and run them through my past and me through theirs so maybe we could be more on the same page *sigh* lol

    Comment by elladanes | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  4. lol, scrap that, most of the people i love and get on well with have a match up… let me take the OTHER people who i consider closed minded and prejudiced and run THEM through it hehehe

    Comment by elladanes | March 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

