Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

You must have heard it from my best friend, She’s always talkin’ when she should be listening, Can’t keep a secret to save her life…

I was discussing the other day about those times you meet someone to catch up and you are a little unsure about whether it is a ‘date’ or a ‘meeting of friends’.  There are some obvious signs.  Generally if they bring about 10 other people with them, it is not a date.  If someone pays for the other person, it is a date.  If it occurs as a result of someone asking “would you like to go out on a date with me?”….odds are it is a date 😉 Well tonight I had one of the easy ‘pickers’.  It was a date.

Now I would go on to tell you who the date was with, but in today’s age of facebook, myspace and the like, I know that this would lead to some of my good friends stalking.  So for this post…I went out with X 😛

The initial plan was to catch up for dinner at this cool buffet place in town – the Spice Quarter, but as X ended up having a late job interview, it was suggested that we see a movie instead. Okay, before I get too many shocked looks, I am one of those people who thinks that a movie on a first date is a bad move (Although I have been on a lot of ‘movie first dates’…maybe I am just a fool?).  You can’t talk much and a dinner/coffee generally goes better.  However, we ended up chatting for about an hour and then seeing Seven Pounds (which was a GREAT movie…although I was completely lost for the first 20 mins haha).

Now, I don’t know if X enjoyed the date, if there will be a second or a third or whatever will happen from here on…but I certainly had a good time 🙂

So with that story told…what else did I do today? Well I had a relatively boring lecture on Comparative European Legal Systems (What do judges do? Well I think I learnt that in Year 10 doing 1/2 Legal Studies with Mr Thompson).  I also had a short seminar for Cybercrime which was actually quite interesting.  I don’t think the subject itself ‘catches me’ as much as I thought it would but the lecturer ( THE D.S. Wall :P) is definitely high up in his field and knows how to structure a fun and interesting Seminar discussion.  I also had a few beers with the boys in the Old Bar…planned to go to the lake district next weekend, had a few ‘small world’ moments about people we knew and just enjoyed oneself as one does in a pub.  Overall it was a pretty good day!

February 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Simon, i am HORRIFIED at two things.
    1) that those lyrics are in your knowledge bank
    2) that i immediately recognised those lyrics

    For both of our sakes, I hope no one else knows what they are :p Glad you had fun!

    Comment by shanchops | February 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. You know it is cool Shan 😛

    Comment by casaboy69 | February 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

