Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

I’d tell all my friends, But they’d never believe me, They’d think that I’d finally lost it completely

So yesterday I did nothing for the first time in a month.  I decided that as I had no uni classes I would sit back and relax.  I watched tv, sat on the internet and slept….IT WAS AWESOME! Although I am now a little stir crazy and I think ‘once a month’ is all I will be doing that.  However, I do have a confession to make, I didn’t do my washing…as I said I was enjoying doing nothing and didn’t want such a task to ruin my day.  I had realised I had a set of clothes for today and now, as soon as I finish this post, I will be heading off to do it.
I promise:/ *thats a nervous look for all you old people*

One thing I did realise yesterday, besides the fact that Season 3 of Dexter goes down hill after the first few episodes to just being awesome and not brilliant, was how easy I have it.  I have been gone for 3 weeks, living alone for a week and yet I still don’t really miss home.  No, Its not that I’m a bastard who is not grateful for what I have back in the land of Oz, but really I am not missing much to be sad…Thanks to the internet.

Let me explain.  Thanks to news.com.au, heraldsun.com.au, theage.com.au and Crikey I am yet to miss any of the Australian News stories.  I know all about the girl who tragically got thrown of the bridge. I know all about a drunk Andrew Symonds on Roy and HG’s radio show.  I know about the trouble brewing along in the Victorian ALP. I even know stuff I shouldn’t like Thorpey just holidayed in Brazil.  I haven’t missed anything.  In fact due to the timezone differences I may even read these stories before most Australians now about them.
Now the best part of the internet for people in my position is the communication side of things.  I have facebook, skype, msn, this blog and emails all helping me stay connected to all the people back in Australia.  Us Australian International Students have also noted a phenomenom that exists that you seem to be contacted by friends/family more when you are away then just down the road (By the way….I LOVE THIS, so don’t take this as a reason to stop pestering me :P).

I can’t imagine what it would be like for people who did this move overseas to study pre internet. All I can imagine is that it would’ve lead to costly telephone bills or before that lots of letters home. Yet people still survived it and loved the experience (I know, they have told me such…). So really, I am not in a position to complain.  I have things pretty good as I can have the time of my life over in the UK while only being a keystroke away from the familiarness of home.

January 29, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. So, go and do the washing and see if you miss me now!
    luv you mum

    Comment by Christine | January 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. A bit Pythonish, but it was even worse when we moved around places like Ghana and even Malaysia as children in the early 60’s. Telephone – what a luxury! If it existed, it was unreliable and horribly expensive. And mail was slow, very slow. Letters were basically it, as far as my childhood memory goes. And no tv – Ghana and Malaysia at that time had nothing!

    How would that go, son – no tv or suchlike for 5 years?!

    Much better now….!

    Love Dad

    Comment by Niranjan | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. Ummm…i haven’ts gone a day without TV in at least 18 years. It would be stupid. I would kill myself :L

    Comment by casaboy69 | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. i’m just uptight uptight uptight

    Comment by gabs | November 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

