Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

I know money is the root of all evil, Do funny things to some people, Give me a nickel, brother can you spare a dime, Money can drive some people out of their minds…

I had a rather relaxing Saturday.  Actually it was probably my most relaxing day since I arrived in the UK.  I slept in until 10am. I ate breakfast. I spoke to a few people on through skype, msn, etc. I watched some tv (Scrubs rules :P). Until I then headed to the city and caught up with Josh, did some shopping, went to the pub, got some pizza and watched some Soccer (it will never be football to me).  That was my day…not much to write home about, so I don’t really know why I am writing home about it.  I’ll stop here and embrace one of my favourite hobbies…ranting!

Okay so in the UK they have 8 seperate coins (1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p, 1 pound and 2 pounds) in either the traditional designs  (lright) or the newly released ‘coat of arms’ designs (left).

Now it isn’t something I usually publicise but I am a little bit of a coin collector, but that doesn’t mean that I want to have a pocket full of change.  One thing that I keep encountering here in the UK is that I come home and have a mass of coins jingling around in my pocket…such an amount that it overflows from the desingated coin pocket in my jeans. Maybe some UK jeans would have appropriately sized pockets 😉

One likely cause of this is that I rarely use coins to pay for items as I just find the ease of handing over a 5, 10 or 20 pound/dollar note better than traulling through a mass of coins to find exact change.  At most I will use a 1 or 2 pound/dollar coin to pay for something, unless I’m desperate.  However, if it was me…wouldn’t I have had the same issue where I am swimming in coins in Australia?

I seem to find here in England that the 1p and 2p coins are just annoying!  Every transaction you make almost certainly has change, there is no such thing as rounding up or down to the nearest 5 and as a result a large amount of my coins are these, not so little, buggers.  However, there seems to be a shortage of 5 pound notes here as well.  Whenever I hand over a 10 pound note to pay for something that costs abot 3 pounds I always hear the same response from the person serving me as they hurl a lot of coins in my direction… “sorry but we are out of 5 pound notes.”  It is even worse as it seems the 2pound coin is almost a rarity and my 7 pounds in change come in the form of 7 1 pound coins.

Okay so thats my rant over for today…Come on England, catch up to Australia and ditch the 1 and 2p coins and some more 5 pound notes printed/2 pound coins minted.  Thanks 😛

January 25, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

