Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Your faith was strong but you needed proof, you saw her bathing on the roof, her beauty in the moonlight overthrew you…

So today was my last full day in London before heading up to Leeds tomorrow.  Actually it is probably more accurate to call it my last day in London, seeing as my bus leaves at 8:30am tomorrow – a bus trip that is costing me all of 5 pounds thanks to wonderful internet deals.   To mark such a day, I headed off to St Paul’s Cathedral.

Now everyone had told me that I HAD to go to St Paul’s and I can see why.  It is a marvelous piece of architecture and a place that just amazes me that it could be built.  Let alone be built hundreds of years ago! As has become a regular feature of my time in London, I used an audio tour for my trip to St Paul’s and again was far from disappointed. I saw all the main parts of the Cathedral and was inundated with a raft of new information- I saw the Whispering Gallery (Soooooo many stairs), The view from the top Gallery (Sooooo many stairs and proving once and for all that I am still afraid of heights after doing the skydive), Nelson’s tomb, Wren’s Memorial, etc, etc.

For me the building felt much more than just a church, actually it felt little like a church at all. It felt like being in a war memorial, particularly with the amount of tombs and memorials to fallen heros.  This isn’t a bad thing in my opinion.  It actually lead to me being more moved than my atheist-self would’ve been by ‘just a beautiful church’ I suspect.  There was so much history built into the Cathedral.  There was even a little Australian/New Zealand corner with Billy Hughes’ carved place staring at me to my surprise (“The little digger” being one of Australia’s most interesting political figures).

And with a tube/bus ride home my tourist time in London is complete…for now (Oh and yeah, just to finish it off I awarkedly ran into my “accidental stalkee” one final time on the bus home haha).  I am really excited about what awaits me in Leeds. After living in the same house my entire life, with the comforts of home (read as “mother”) I should probably be more worried about cooking, cleaning and all in all looking after myself in a foreign land, where the people speak funny and I know few if any people…but I’m just excited.
😀

January 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Wait until you see some of the other amazing churches in Europe. Duomo in Milan and St Stephens in Vienna my two personal favourites to date!

    PS You ain’t heard people speak funny till you hear them speak Czech….Impossible to understand!

    Safe travels.
    Juz.

    Comment by Juzzy | January 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Mother has faith in you! You will manage by yourself and, if not, I expect seven months of washing when you return!
    Hear from you next when you are in Leeds. Linda Browne is waiting to hear what you think about her Uni as well.
    luv mum

    Comment by Christine | January 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. That damn stalkee 😛

    Sounds like you made the most of London, good on ya! You must be tired though 🙂 Leeds here we goooo

    Comment by Stevechops | January 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. Have no doubt that you’ll look after yourself food-wise!:D As for the rest, you’ll pick it up when you have to-ie when the clothes run out!

    And as for speaking funny – what’s the bet that you’ll come back speaking a strange blend of Aussie/Yorkshire/whoknowswhere?!!:)

    Take care , son – and keep on lapping it all up…

    Love Dad

    Comment by Niranjan | January 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. counting this blog for the word ‘raft’.. 7 months, get em a good figure eh? xx

    Comment by lisbeth | January 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

