Casa’s Blog

A Life Abroad

Are we human or are we tourists? My sign is vital, my hands are cold…

Okay, so to start with a cheesy killers lyric may not be the best start to this post.  But this song decided to repeatedly come up on my ipod throughout my outing today and I saw that as a sign.  Today was my first  big tourist day.  I woke up early, before the sun rose, and ventured in to London.

I had booked  a ticket on the the Big Bus sightseeing tour online the night before and thought that would be a great way of starting my day.  It was freezing cold and the seats were covered with little bit of snow –  but my warm gloves and jacket as well as the rather witty guide (Tommy) made it a quite interesting trip.  I decided that I would sit down, take in the entire tour and use it as a way of getting my bearings around London.  It worked a treat, I got to see all the major landmarks, learnt a few interesting facts and it was all done by 10:45am.

I alighted the bus near Green Park and decided that I would walk through the park (as it was quite an impressive sight to me being very much a winter scene) and make my way around to Buckingham Palace, just so that I could say that I had seen it from up close- as the bus tour was not allowed to get that close.  It was when I got up to Buckingham Palace that I realised that my timing couldn’t have been more perfect as the Changing of the Guard was just about to occur (One touristy item I could cross off my to-do list without even planning it).  It was quite an impressive regal procession, but it also may have been more enjoyable if I was able to stay standing in one position without freezing to the floor.

I was then unsure what I was going to do, as my only other item on my itinery for the day was to take my compliment river cruise that came free with the bus pass.  I thought I would grab a coffee to warm up (starbucks was the closest as obviously unlike Australia where they shut down a large portion of the stores, London was unhit as there was a starbucks around every corner haha) and then went for a walk around the city.  I had the final destination of the jetty where I could catch my cruise but without a proper map I was just following the general direction and seeing what the city would show me.
I ended up walking through Trafalgar Square (complete with frozen fountains), Piccadilly Circus, past 10 Downing St and all the other main landmarks of Westminster on my leisurely stroll.   (Be warned that as I was travelling  alone, this lead to a few ‘myspace’ style shots of me to prove that I had visited the above locations hehe).

It was then time to take the river cruise and again it was pretty good value.  It took about 40 minutes, gave a few interesting tidbits but the main highlight was the fact that you got to see the city from a different perspective.  Unfortunately my camera battery had died…so you’ll just have to trust me 😉

After that I returned back to Ham as I had left…through the combination of bus and underground. Oh that’s right, I should have mentioned that today also marked my first experience with the Tube and so far…I am definitely not missing the public transport of Melbourne and the many issues that plague it.  Even the oyster card system is easy/efficient to use…WHY DID YOU AGREE TO MYKI BRACKSY WHEN YOU COULD’VE JUST BOUGHT THIS SYSTEM?!

Alright thats enough from me for today.  I will upload photos of today later, but as I said the camera died and I am currently charging up the battery.

January 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Where’s your beanie young man!?

    Comment by Stevechops | January 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. My beanie was safely packed away in my suitcase…it was a mistake as it was BLOODY cold haha

    Comment by casaboy69 | January 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. man what an awesome day out! i am totally envious now! never had such a desire to head to the UK (not any NOT wanting to either just kinda meh)

    but your writing and photographic (albeit my-spacey) abilities leave me chomping at the bit to see the snow!

    Comment by lisbeth | January 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

